Value of Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun

百舌鳥・古市古墳群▲ Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun Of the eleven giant keyhole-shaped kofun (i.e. those exceeding 200 meters in length) within Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun, six to seven were the largest or among the largest of each phase at the time of their construction. These are known officially as "Nakatsuhime-no-mikoto-ryo Kofun", "Richu-tenno-ryo Kofun", "Ojin-tenno-ryo Kofun", "Nintoku-tenno-ryo Kofun", "Ingyo-tenno-ryo Kofun", "Nisanzai Kofun", and "Chuai-tenno-ryo Kofun". the All were built between the late 4th and late 5th centuries. Smaller kofun known as "baicho" are arranged in satellite formation around these seven giant kofun, indicating the extent of power wielded by the persons buried in the main tombs.

In five of these main tombs, the mound is surrounded by a double or triple moat, creating the scenic illusion of "separation from the outside world" or "a floating burial mound". Many of them are traditionally identified with the Imperial Mausolea appearing in ancient quasi-historical texts (Kojiki and Nihon Shoki). They are thought to have been built by ancient sovereigns who were later known as "Tenno" (Emperors). There is plenty of evidence to suggest that these seven colossal keyhole-shaped kofun are indeed the tombs of ancient Japanese sovereigns.
For example,
(1) the massive scale of the mounds,
(2) the presence of satellite tombs,
(3) the majestic rendition of the burial mounds, and
(4) the description in ancient documents.
Besides the above, many other kofun were built around the monumental keyhole-shaped kofun in both Mozu and Furuichi areas. These are contemporaneous with the larger kofun, and were probably the tombs of the subsidiary elite somehow related to the king. In other words, Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun is a group of ancient mounded tombs clusters that had been continuously formed over a period of around 100 years, in which kofun of various shapes and sizes (with monumental keyhole-shaped tumuli at their apex, smaller satellite tumuli arranged around them as if belonging to them, and others not belonging to them) were built over the same period. These tumulus clusters could therefore be seen as a collection of tombs of the Kings of Wa over seven generations, together with their family members and vassals. As such, they could rightly be called the "Royal Tumulus Complex".

  Name of Kofun Mound length Area notes
1 Nintoku-tenno-ryo Kofun 486 m Mozu  
2 Ojin-tenno-ryo Kofun 425 m Furuichi  
3 Richu-tenno-ryo Kofun 365 m Mozu  
4 Nisanzai Kofun 300 m Mozu  
5 Nakatsuhime-no-mikoto-ryo Kofun 290 m Furuichi  
6 Chuai-tenno-ryo Kofun 242 m Furuichi  
7 Ingyo-tenno-ryo Kofun 230 m Furuichi  
8 Hakayama Kofun 225 m Furuichi  
9 Tsudo-shiroyama Kofun 210 m Furuichi  
10 Gobyoyama Kofun 203 m Mozu  
11 Hakuchoryo Kofun 200 m Furuichi